Intro: Cheat meals & Mental health

I have made myself a very hefty breakfast since June 11th. I have been consistently doing cardio everyday until I was tattooed on June 21st. I had also been climbing everyday, which I think I need to do less of. I need to learn how to have off days from climbing so my muscles can rest. 

Another thing I need to remember to do is have cheat meals. Although, I want to be in optimal health I cannot limit myself to having no fun when it comes to life.  I consider eating not only a necessity to live of course, but fun! Eating should be enjoyed. My gosh, there is so much food in this world. I am not allergic to anything via consumption so by all means – let’s EAT! (I’m allergic to animal saliva due to being bit by a dog in high school, maybe I will blog about that one day 🙂 )

My brother is a chef and has been working as a chef for more than a decade. He and I would bond over watching Anthony Bourdain’s Travel Channel’s “No Reservations” He texted me the morning of the day when Anthony Bourdain’s death was announced with simply “Anthony Bourdain is dead”. He was devastated and saddened. He is not a man of many words. When I came over to the house to hang out he told me he cannot watch the last episode of the most recent TV series that Bourdain had filmed. I have not kept up with Bourdain’s recent TV series since I truly believed that the best series Bourdain had was No Reservations. Also, I am not much into TV and honestly – it’s only with my Kuya (brother in Tagalog) that I ever watch TV.

I am going to split this blog entry into two entries in response to Bourdain’s death. Please skip the next two blog entries if you are not interested in my cheat days and my view on mental health 🙂 

Published by

Donna Salonga

Artist based in the San Francisco Bay Area, Ca.

Leave a comment